May 18, 2024


Not Just Any News Media

St. Joseph County Commission members sworn in; Malone named chairman

St. Joseph County Commission members sworn in; Malone named chairman

CENTREVILLE — St. Joseph County Board of Commissioners has returned to seven users for the 1st time in a decade.

With commissioners’ district boundaries redrawn as section of the after-each and every-10-decades apportionment course of action in 2021, the county board reverted to 7 members from what experienced been a 5-human being board.

Commissioners had been sworn in Tuesday and will provide two-yr terms.

St. Joseph County Commission members sworn in; Malone named chairman

District 1: Jared Hoffmaster, commencing his third 12 months as a county commissioner, signifies Flowerfield Township, most of Fabius Township, and roughly the south and west sections of 3 Rivers.

Rick Shaffer

District 2: Rick Shaffer, returning to the board immediately after earlier serving 1990-2002 and 2009-2016, represents Florence and Lockport townships, a smaller portion of Fabius Township, and the north and east quadrants of 3 Rivers.

Rusty Baker

District 3: Rusty Baker, a Mendon resident who joined the board following defeating incumbent Kathy Pangle in the August primary, signifies Park, Mendon and Leonidas townships, and the northeast quadrant of Colon Township.

Luis Rosado

District 4: Newcomer Luis Rosado joins the board soon after Dan Czajkowski selected not to seek out re-election, signifies Constantine, Mottville and White Pigeon townships. It is the only district with clearly outlined borders.

Dennis Allen

District 5: Dennis Allen, a Centreville resident and dean of the board with six a long time served, signifies Nottawa and Sherman townships, a substantial portion of Sturgis Township and a small spot of Sturgis.

Ken Malone

District 6: Ken Malone, commencing his fifth calendar year on the board, signifies a important portion of Sturgis and a compact area of Sturgis Township.

Terry Conklin

District 7: Terry Conklin, a newcomer who previously served additional than 20 several years as superintendent of Burr Oak Group Educational facilities, signifies Burr Oak and Fawn River townships, roughly three-quarters of Colon Township, a sliver of Sturgis Township and the southeast quadrant of Sturgis Township.

Commissioners were unanimous Tuesday, Jan. 3, in picking out Malone to serve as board chairman for 2023. A Sturgis resident, the 58-yr-old Malone owns Benefit Water Services.

He acknowledged his friends for their vote of confidence.

“Thank you all for the religion you’ve set in me I’ll test not to enable you down,” Malone mentioned as he took his seat at the heart of the dais.

Afterward, he elaborated on his job as board chairman.

“The major thing to bear in mind is, just like mayor, it’s a ceremonial situation and I however depict just a person vote,” Malone said. “As you know, the board chairman just runs the conferences, seems at gatherings to symbolize, and it’s my pleasure and I’m honored to be equipped to do all those points on behalf of St. Joseph County.”